TV recommendation: ‘Dexter’

A couple years back, a co-worker of mine received, but then put up for adoption, a copy of season one of “Dexter” on DVD. I’d heard good things about the show, so I snatched up the discs. Sat down one night, fired up episode 1, and….wow. I was sucked in within just a few minutes. The show stars Michael C. Hall, playing a character that’s a complete 180 from the straight-laced, rather vanilla gay mortician guy he played on “Six Feet Under.” On Dexter, he’s a tan, shaggy-haired blood-spatter expert for the Miami Police Department who moonlights as a serial killer who kills serial killers.

I watched Seasons 1 and two of the show in rapid succession (I think the same co-worker also received the second season on DVD), but am only now, like a year later, watching Season 3, which has Jimmy Smits appearing in an amazing guest-starring role. The show keeps you on your toes with twists and turns around every corner — stayed up until 1 a.m. last night watching two episodes after Thursday-night swimming, and then had to force myself to turn the TV off and go to bed (I work from home Fridays, so I let myself stay up later than usual). Oh, and Season 3 was nicely released on Blu-ray, which makes for even more inviting viewing.

Anyway,

I’m sure most of you have heard of this show by now (I think it’s into its fourth season on Showtime now?), but if you haven’t, I highly urge you to give it a look-see. It’s intense and gritty, but everything about the show is just utterly mesmerizing to me, from Hall’s performance as Dexter, to his relationship with his foul-mouthed police-offer sister (who’s actually Hall’s real-life wife) to his struggles to appear to be “normal,” to the way the show is shot, and even its color palette. More info at Showtime’s official Web site for the show.

3 Responses to “TV recommendation: ‘Dexter’”

  1. We started watching this show a while back on DVD…we have the first 3 season’s and just starting watching the 3rd the other day…good show! :)

  2. Yeah! Nice! It’s so different from any other show I’ve ever watched. No release date yet for Season 4 on DVD, but once one’s announced, I’ll surely start counting down the days !:o)

  3. Have you checked out Weeds? That one kinda makes me laugh…

Leave a Reply

